Site not look beautiful? Click here

Staff List > Erin Ryan > Stories

Contact

Erin Ryan

Staff Writer

Erin got her first newspaper job in 2002 thanks to a campfire story about Bigfoot. In her award-winning work for weeklies, dailies and magazines throughout the region, she has crawled inside the heads of Pulitzer winners and urban vampires, played Scrabble with nudists, flown an airplane and eaten seven pickles in four minutes. She does not believe in nut grafs.

Story Archive

  • Nightlife

    Thursday, April 17, 2014

    Plus, a beer fest at Big Dog's and an al fresco wine walk. Drink up!

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 16, 2014

    Dream a little. Do a little. (Or a lot.)

  • Weekly Q&A

    Wednesday, April 16, 2014

    As managing director of Wynn and Encore salons since 2013, Claude Baruk is working on a massive reinvention of the former while transforming hair at the latter through cuts, colors and treatments designed to make each client feel ...

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 16, 2014

    Also, Selena Gomez "canoodling" with Justin Bieber at Coachella.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, April 15, 2014

    Breaking the Downtown bubble with a buzz.

  • A&E

    Friday, April 11, 2014

    A series of "special classy events," courtesy of Snoop Dogg.

  • Features

    Thursday, April 10, 2014

    Steak with the spirit of Butch Cassidy, plus a doll collection with historical heft.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 9, 2014

    Willie Nelson's stuffed armadillo vs. a $35K Rolex.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 9, 2014

    Sure, a lot of people have smartphones. But what about the digital have-nots?

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, April 8, 2014

    A Downtown fun finder, from Tony Tone at Container Park to free bagels on Tax Day.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 2, 2014

    Apparently the LVMPD has the right to remain stylish!

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 2, 2014

    The Walgreens at Venetian and the Boulevard Mall—how do they compare?

  • Nightlife

    Wednesday, April 2, 2014

    Beer has many holidays. Celebrate the one that matters!

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 26, 2014

    A few clicks and you could reap the benefits of offering the Vegas hook-up.

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, March 25, 2014

    Wait more than five minutes, and that $5 vodka-cran is free.

  • LV Weekly

    Saturday, March 22, 2014

    What if a massive trail circled the entire Valley?

  • Features

    Thursday, March 20, 2014

    “You’re worked and you’re beat at the end of the day, but you feel high.”

  • Features

    Thursday, March 20, 2014

    Walking? Running? Biking? Horseback riding? We've got you covered!

  • Features

    Thursday, March 20, 2014

    Whether your idea of camping is an air mattress in the back of a suburban or a portaledge dangling from a mountain face, you can appreciate the difference the right gear makes.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 19, 2014

    "What Happens Over Vegas Stays Over Vegas!"

  • El Cortez

    Wednesday, March 19, 2014

    Hundreds gathered on Monday to mourn the late gaming pioneer, the "patron saint" of Downtown veteran El Cortez.

  • Taste

    Monday, March 17, 2014

    Tiny sandwiches are just adorable.

  • A&E

    Thursday, March 13, 2014

    The Pinball Hall of Fame has a whole lot more than just the standard arcade game—Just take a spin on the "Relax-a-lator."

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 12, 2014

    After crashing a Cessna multiple times, Paul Weddle was arrested with a blood alcohol content of .132.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 5, 2014

    Plus, niche events that rock our economy (hint: EDC).

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, March 4, 2014

    At Look, you can get your nails done and take down a croissant. Now that's beautiful.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2014

    The brain-fart heard 'round the world: those in the crowd that night can say they saw it happen.

  • Las Vegas

    Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2014

    Judy Cox dropped $567 on an entire window display of shirts to ensure their removal from the public eye.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 19, 2014

    Get the Cinderella experience at the Cosmopolitan.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2014

    How many phone numbers will three popular nightspots yield?

  • Dining

    Sunday, Feb. 16, 2014

    Finally, a cookie with figs, goat cheese and meringue.

  • Sexuality

    Thursday, Feb. 13, 2014

    Because there’s a right and a wrong way to do this, people!

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2014

    In Internet years, Facebook is really, really old.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2014

    If you're not into being mature and accountable, there's an app for that!

  • As We See It

    Thursday, Feb. 6, 2014

    Do you know what liqueur is traditionally served with three coffee beans?

  • Film

    Thursday, Feb. 6, 2014

    The Molotov cocktail scene from Night of the Living Dead is scary without a bunch of zombies shambling around the movie theater.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 5, 2014

    A recent Uber blog post launched the #VegasNeedsUber social media campaign—and blasted Nevada's "outdated" laws.

  • Music

    Tuesday, Feb. 4, 2014

    “Every time I hit that high note I feel like I break a rib.”

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2014

    The singer doesn't care if you like her or not, but there are so many reasons you should.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2014

    A few nuances of busting out your debit card for that Wizard Tower.

  • Noise

    Friday, Jan. 17, 2014

    "No interviews, no introductions. Just show the music."

  • Features

    Thursday, Jan. 16, 2014

    Edgy, elegant and avant-garde, Las Vegas power lobbies will suck you in.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014

    We know you're excited about the Shops at Summerlin.

  • As We See It

    Saturday, Jan. 11, 2014

    What's 512 horsepower and juicy red?

  • Downtown

    Thursday, Jan. 9, 2014

    “You won’t be big if you don’t think big.”

  • Features

    Thursday, Jan. 9, 2014

    In our intergalactic future, Robert Bigelow sees some lines drawn in the moon dust.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2014

    Did you know 45 new laws went into effect in the Silver State on January 1?

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Dec. 24, 2013

    A brut bubbly for every budget, so you can end 2013 with a clean, dry snap.

  • As We See It

    Monday, Dec. 23, 2013

    Wearing pants, cooking and other things we solemnly swear to do in 2014.

  • As We See It

    Saturday, Dec. 21, 2013

    Can't buy designer? Rent. You'll look fabulous and smart.