Site not look beautiful? Click here

Staff List > Erin Ryan > Stories

Contact

Erin Ryan

Staff Writer

Erin got her first newspaper job in 2002 thanks to a campfire story about Bigfoot. In her award-winning work for weeklies, dailies and magazines throughout the region, she has crawled inside the heads of Pulitzer winners and urban vampires, played Scrabble with nudists, flown an airplane and eaten seven pickles in four minutes. She does not believe in nut grafs.

Story Archive

  • El Cortez

    Wednesday, March 19, 2014

    Hundreds gathered on Monday to mourn the late gaming pioneer, the "patron saint" of Downtown veteran El Cortez.

  • Taste

    Monday, March 17, 2014

    Tiny sandwiches are just adorable.

  • A&E

    Thursday, March 13, 2014

    The Pinball Hall of Fame has a whole lot more than just the standard arcade game—Just take a spin on the "Relax-a-lator."

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 12, 2014

    After crashing a Cessna multiple times, Paul Weddle was arrested with a blood alcohol content of .132.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 5, 2014

    Plus, niche events that rock our economy (hint: EDC).

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, March 4, 2014

    At Look, you can get your nails done and take down a croissant. Now that's beautiful.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2014

    The brain-fart heard 'round the world: those in the crowd that night can say they saw it happen.

  • Las Vegas

    Wednesday, Feb. 26, 2014

    Judy Cox dropped $567 on an entire window display of shirts to ensure their removal from the public eye.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 19, 2014

    Get the Cinderella experience at the Cosmopolitan.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2014

    How many phone numbers will three popular nightspots yield?

  • Dining

    Sunday, Feb. 16, 2014

    Finally, a cookie with figs, goat cheese and meringue.

  • Sexuality

    Thursday, Feb. 13, 2014

    Because there’s a right and a wrong way to do this, people!

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2014

    In Internet years, Facebook is really, really old.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2014

    If you're not into being mature and accountable, there's an app for that!

  • As We See It

    Thursday, Feb. 6, 2014

    Do you know what liqueur is traditionally served with three coffee beans?

  • Film

    Thursday, Feb. 6, 2014

    The Molotov cocktail scene from Night of the Living Dead is scary without a bunch of zombies shambling around the movie theater.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 5, 2014

    A recent Uber blog post launched the #VegasNeedsUber social media campaign—and blasted Nevada's "outdated" laws.

  • Music

    Tuesday, Feb. 4, 2014

    “Every time I hit that high note I feel like I break a rib.”

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2014

    The singer doesn't care if you like her or not, but there are so many reasons you should.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2014

    A few nuances of busting out your debit card for that Wizard Tower.

  • Noise

    Friday, Jan. 17, 2014

    "No interviews, no introductions. Just show the music."

  • Features

    Thursday, Jan. 16, 2014

    Edgy, elegant and avant-garde, Las Vegas power lobbies will suck you in.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014

    We know you're excited about the Shops at Summerlin.

  • As We See It

    Saturday, Jan. 11, 2014

    What's 512 horsepower and juicy red?

  • Downtown

    Thursday, Jan. 9, 2014

    “You won’t be big if you don’t think big.”

  • Features

    Thursday, Jan. 9, 2014

    In our intergalactic future, Robert Bigelow sees some lines drawn in the moon dust.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2014

    Did you know 45 new laws went into effect in the Silver State on January 1?

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Dec. 24, 2013

    A brut bubbly for every budget, so you can end 2013 with a clean, dry snap.

  • As We See It

    Monday, Dec. 23, 2013

    Wearing pants, cooking and other things we solemnly swear to do in 2014.

  • As We See It

    Saturday, Dec. 21, 2013

    Can't buy designer? Rent. You'll look fabulous and smart.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2013

    The endeavor's model blends green vehicle sharing, chauffeured rides and public shuttle services available through a mobile app.

  • National Finals Rodeo

    Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2013

    Are we riding into the sunset of the city's NFR era?

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2013

    The Vegas Viking Lodge called on its members for a flood of photo and video tributes.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2013

    Also, an app where local chefs recommend their favorite dishes around town.

  • Health

    Sunday, Dec. 15, 2013

    Las Vegas is the nation’s largest metro area without an allopathic (M.D.) medical school—but that's not the only thing that's missing.

  • As We See It

    Friday, Dec. 6, 2013

    “It’s a high school prom, it’s a Springsteen song ..."

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Dec. 4, 2013

    The quiet dissolution of a small but beloved force of UNLV peacekeepers.

  • National Finals Rodeo

    Wednesday, Dec. 4, 2013

    World bull riding champion Shane Proctor walks Weekly through the tools of the trade.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Dec. 4, 2013

    The local business specializes in party arrangements and room design packages.

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2013

    With Neal Smatresk leaving for the University of North Texas, UNLV is in need of a new big cheese.

  • Entertainment

    Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2013

    This pop-up market has everything you need for the art lover in your life.

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2013

    "The idea of sanitizing athletic spectacle isn’t as easy a sell as buffing the sharp edges off of playground equipment."

  • Taste

    Friday, Nov. 22, 2013

    Yogurt on bread is your new addiction. Trust us.

  • Features

    Thursday, Nov. 21, 2013

    We know the beauty queen, with her perfect tan legs and glittering dental work. But the pageant industry has more than one face. What about Miss Earth and Miss Ethnic Opulence? What about contests celebrating culture or scholarship, overcoming disability or riding on horseback? There’s a sash for any number of passions, and Las Vegas is home to some colorful titleholders. You might not recognize them without their regalia, a nice reminder that real people are attached to the royal Miss, Ms. and Mr.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013

    Differing polls have named the two destinations the top to see in Las Vegas.

  • As We See It

    Saturday, Nov. 16, 2013

    How juicy is your brain?

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2013

    Also, some tasty sea urchin in Seattle.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2013

    "I’ve always wanted to find my beer, one I’d order over an Old Fashioned not because it was socially correct or cheap but because it tasted that awesome."

  • Fine Art

    Thursday, Nov. 7, 2013

    This place even has a shrunken head with a third eye.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2013

    And Leisure Suit Larry in the Land of the Lounge Lizards is one of them. We promise.