Site not look beautiful? Click here

Staff List > John Curtas > Stories

Contact

John Curtas

Story Archive

  • Food

    Wednesday, Feb. 8, 2012

    Downtown’s feisty new Thai restaurant puts forth aggressive (and authentic) versions of fiery dishes priced right.

  • 12towatchin2012

    Wednesday, Jan. 4, 2012

    Nicole Brisson has worked her way up the culinary ladder in a very short time

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2011

    What will the New Year bring to our bellies? A few food-for-thoughts.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2011

    The Weekly food critics count down their favorite 15 dishes of the year.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2011

    Firing photon pastry torpedoes at the mediocrity that clings to Eastern Ave.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Nov. 23, 2011

    How do you get three food critics to agree on anything? John Curtas explains.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Oct. 26, 2011

    Weera is anything but typical Thai.

  • Dining

    Monday, Oct. 24, 2011

    John Curtas looks back at the franchise's impact on our culinary fortunes.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Sept. 21, 2011

    Caesars Palace is gambling that this chef-driven spot right off its main lobby will satisfy the latter niche and raise the bar for dining and drinking for all three meals it serves. For two of those three, it seems to be succeeding.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Aug. 17, 2011

    The menu's all over the map and prices are steep, but oh, that fried chicken!

  • A&E

    Wednesday, July 13, 2011

    A French bakery, pastry shop and bistro has set up shop in Summerlin.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, June 22, 2011

    At American Fish, the wild stuff is where it's at.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, June 15, 2011

    And this isn't your average Indian restaurant ... and that's a good thing.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, May 18, 2011

    After a few alterations to Emeril Lagasse's Table 10, Weekly food critic John Curtas finds out if those changes were for the better.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, April 20, 2011

    The usual suspects make room for chicken wings, dumplings and more.

  • Dining

    Thursday, March 31, 2011

    Why are there so few women in your line of work around here?

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 23, 2011

    The author of The Italian-American Cookbook has a new book out on Italian cuisine's world dominance.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 23, 2011

    An Italian eatery (with former Rao's chef Carla Pellegrino) amps up Henderson's dining scene.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, March 2, 2011

    Jaleo's flavors are classic Spain. Its preparations? Not necessarily.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Feb. 9, 2011

    These three women make desserts into grand finales

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2011

    The Chef of the Century's name is above the door, but this is the guy who's really cooking dinner.

  • Cosmopolitan

    Wednesday, Dec. 15, 2010

    “I got into this business to change how people think about Greek food.”

  • Dining

    Thursday, Nov. 11, 2010

    Chinatown can be an intimidating place. But with John Curtas as your guide, it’s time to dive in.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2010

    Kaiseki perfection for under $150.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Oct. 6, 2010

    It's the return of Champion Gourmet Chinese deli!

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2010

    September is Chile Month. Your first stop is Carlito's Burritos.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Sept. 8, 2010

    What this Hawaiian restaurant lacks in finesse it makes up for in flavor.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Aug. 25, 2010

    Look, up in a shopping mall! It’s a hookah lounge! It’s a bar! It’s Nu Sanctuary!

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Aug. 4, 2010

    Less is more when it comes to Monta's simply delicious ramen.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, July 28, 2010

    If this place was easier to find, it would have a line out the door all day long.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, July 14, 2010

    A tiny oasis of tranquility, in a place you wouldn't expect.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, June 30, 2010

    Semi-Asian food in burger form, made palatable for white people.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, June 16, 2010

    Sirio Maccioni is a living legend. one of a kind. The last of the great ones.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, May 19, 2010

    With well-made classics at reasonable prices, the El Cortez restaurant is an oldie but goodie.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, May 5, 2010

    The Stratosphere's sky-scraping restaurant offers a lot more than the city's best view.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, April 14, 2010

    Mundo could be the most important Downtown restaurant in decades. If people make the trip.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, April 7, 2010

    A great cocktail lineup can't quite redeem the mediocre fare at Herbs & Rye.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, March 24, 2010

    The Fat Greek is, by far, the best Greek restaurant in town

  • Dining

    Wednesday, March 10, 2010

    It's not for cranky critics, but Off the Strip serves giant, simple food.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Feb. 10, 2010

    Crowds still pack Downtown institution El Sombrero at lunchtime—and for good reason.

  • Dining

    Thursday, Feb. 4, 2010

    Sink your teeth into our dry-aged, perfectly charred guide to Vegas' best steak.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Jan. 27, 2010

    Our critic takes on Aria's two steakhouses and finds plenty to chew on.