Site not look beautiful? Click here

Contact

Leslie Ventura

Web Calendar Editor

Leslie Ventura joined the Las Vegas Weekly in 2013 after graduating from UNLV with a bachelor’s in Women’s Studies. In addition to being Calendar Editor of the Weekly, she’s picked the brains of rock stars, glimpsed into the oily world of professional bodybuilding and peered into the lives of Las Vegas’ movers and shakers. She runs on coffee and all things peanut butter-flavored.

Story Archive

  • Music

    Friday, March 6, 2015

    Plus: A drag queen comedienne and a band of flamenco kings. Get all the deets here.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 4, 2015

    Plus, False Cause signs with SquidHat and a new music video from Almost Normal.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 25, 2015

    Rayner brings emotion to new music, and new energy to the scene.

  • Music

    Friday, Feb. 20, 2015

    Also: Mandalay Bay's Beach Concert Series.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 18, 2015

    Is Dr. Dog better than ever? Leaman thinks so.

  • As We See It

    Monday, Feb. 16, 2015

    The public event featured a candlelight vigil and speeches from students, prominent local religious leaders and politicians.

  • Music

    Friday, Feb. 13, 2015

    Plus, Barenaked Ladies at the Cosmo. Get all the deets here!

  • As We See It

    Thursday, Feb. 12, 2015

    While Toyboxx's gallery will transition into a retail space, it's already functioning as an offbeat forum for new ways to talk—and think—about sex.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Feb. 12, 2015

    Judging them are the stars who do it best.

  • Nightlife

    Thursday, Feb. 12, 2015

    Are you deep and smoky or bold and spicy?

  • Music

    Wednesday, Feb. 11, 2015

    Powerhouse musicianship drives a spooky, emotive performance.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Feb. 5, 2015

    "My life is my art, and my art is my life."

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2015

    The trio brought everything you’d expect—jokes about getting laid, diamond-sharp guitars and glittery, metallic solos …

  • Music

    Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2015

    If you hung out at Money Plays, chances are you noticed (or were part of) Vegas on the Mic.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 4, 2015

    The 305 Fitness class, which combines a nightclub environment with high-interval training, recently landed at the hotel's pop-up space.

  • Music

    Friday, Jan. 30, 2015

    Plus, Weird Al!

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 28, 2015

    Will Smoke + Mirrors live up to Night Visions' glory?

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Jan. 27, 2015

    The brewery features a well-rounded menu for craft-beer lovers, as well as newbie hopheads.

  • Adult

    Tuesday, Jan. 27, 2015

    No, that's not just a stuffed animal ...

  • Adult

    Friday, Jan. 23, 2015

    Porn stars and pinot noir—because why not, right?

  • Adult

    Friday, Jan. 23, 2015

    Don't forget to send a thank-you card! No, really ...

  • Music

    Wednesday, Jan. 21, 2015

    Also, Bounty Hunter Brothers and Jack and the B-Fish perform to support new records.

  • Food

    Wednesday, Jan. 14, 2015

    Downtown's newest coffee shop features cups brewed fresh to order and Latin comfort foods.

  • Music

    Wednesday, Jan. 14, 2015

    Plus, Mercy Music and No Red Alice hit the road, too.

  • Music

    Wednesday, Jan. 7, 2015

    It's an album that is more than deserving of attention.

  • Food

    Monday, Dec. 29, 2014

    From the Strip to the suburbs, our curated list of the Valley's year-end meals.

  • Nightlife

    Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2014

    You can still keep it on the cheap for the Big Night.

  • Food

    Monday, Dec. 22, 2014

    With all of that decorating and shopping, who has time to make dinner? Make a reservation instead.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 17, 2014

    Plus new material from Love Vendetta and a SquidHat Records showcase.

  • Music

    Wednesday, Dec. 17, 2014

    “We’re always looking to connect with attendees and see what they would love."

  • A&E

    Friday, Dec. 12, 2014

    Also: Bass Drum of Death at Beauty Bar, Zola Jesus and The Growlers at Bunkhouse.

  • Site Feature

    Thursday, Dec. 11, 2014

    Up close, personal and behind the scenes at Fitness America Weekend—these men and women have pushed their bodies to the max.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2014

    Watch the Scarecrow dance down the yellow-brick road to a live rendition of "Brain Damage" this week.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 3, 2014

    Kings is an album for artists, by artists.

  • Food

    Saturday, Nov. 22, 2014

    Drop that baster! Make a reservation this Turkey Day.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2014

    Macaulay Culkin’s pizza-themed Velvet Underground cover band handed out pizza. #MetaMoment

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2014

    Black celebrates his first EP with a release party on November 21.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 19, 2014

    Time included "feminist" in its annual online "word banishment" poll last week, lumping it in with expressions of the moment like "bae," "turnt" and "yaaasssss."

  • Music

    Thursday, Nov. 13, 2014

    The musician talks the band's latest album, playing Vegas and more.

  • Music

    Wednesday, Nov. 12, 2014

    The musician talks the band's tour, wanting to sound like Britney Spears and being his hometown's "musical shark attack guy."

  • Music

    Wednesday, Nov. 5, 2014

    Ever seen a Juggalo play a pie shop?

  • Halloween

    Wednesday, Oct. 29, 2014

    Home is where the haunt is on Downtown's 16th Street.

  • Music

    Monday, Oct. 27, 2014

    While the quirky musical twists didn’t always match up with the smooth vocals, the production as a whole delivered.

  • Music

    Monday, Oct. 27, 2014

    And the electronics never overwhelmed the live percussion during the dance-pop act's evening performance.

  • A&E

    Sunday, Oct. 26, 2014

    Lots of good local bands and a drawing for a PBR guitar. Good times.

  • A&E

    Sunday, Oct. 26, 2014

    Come on, Wayne Coyne. Stop saying "Come on!"

  • A&E

    Saturday, Oct. 25, 2014

    It was equal parts electrifying and poignant.

  • Music

    Saturday, Oct. 25, 2014

    And yet they had one of the biggest crowds of the night. Go figure.

  • A&E

    Saturday, Oct. 25, 2014

    Will people stand for 10 hours in the sun just to see Kanye West? Yes.

  • Music

    Thursday, Oct. 23, 2014

    The Tucson-based, indie-focused six-piece plays the Life Is Beautiful-alternative mini-fest Life Is Sh*t this weekend.