Site not look beautiful? Click here

Mike D'Angelo

Story Archive

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 24, 2014

    Weekly film critics pick their 10 favorite movies of the year.

  • Entertainment

    Tuesday, Dec. 23, 2014

    Fans of the Broadway musical will be sorely disappointed.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Dec. 17, 2014

    A requiem for America this is definitely not.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Nov. 12, 2014

    To say that Fletcher is a hardass would be inaccurate—even the hardest ass in the world is still at least a little bit pliable.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Nov. 5, 2014

    Nice to see you back, Michael.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Oct. 22, 2014

    But at least it has Bill Murray in a starring role.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Oct. 8, 2014

    This clueless movie feels like the work of a perplexed octogenarian who’s just signed up for his first AOL account.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2014

    The Saturday Night Life alums star in the dramatic dual character study.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2014

    The dramatic comedy stars Jason Bateman, Tina Fey and Jane Fonda.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Aug. 28, 2014

    The Hunger Games returns -- and so does Dumb and Dumber.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Aug. 13, 2014

    Call it 'When Harry Potter Met Sally.'

  • Film

    Wednesday, July 16, 2014

    There’s a potentially uproarious and insightful movie to be made about the modern era’s war against privacy, but it would require actually dealing with mortification and consequences.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, July 2, 2014

    Great cast, great soundtrack, and the writer/director of Once. We're in.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, June 18, 2014

    Call it Apocalypse Whatever.

  • Film

    Wednesday, June 11, 2014

    Every great filmmaker is allowed the occasional noble whiff.

  • Film

    Wednesday, May 28, 2014

    That's right! Weekly went to Cannes.

  • Screen

    Wednesday, April 16, 2014

    Glazer is one of the most visionary directors currently working.

  • Film

    Wednesday, April 9, 2014

    The flick was nominated for this year's Best Animated Feature Oscar.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, March 12, 2014

    At least it's a bit more accessible than the first 'X-Files' movie.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2014

    It's the worst Nicholas Sparks movie that Nicholas Sparks didn't write.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014

    Chris Pine brought back Captain Kirk. Why not Jack Ryan?

  • Film

    Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2014

    Spike Jonze's statement on romance and technology argues any true attraction is fundamentally a meeting of minds.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2014

    The Mark Wahlberg-starring film is a fictionalized account of the military fiasco called Operation Red Wings.

  • Entertainment

    Monday, Dec. 23, 2013

    Rarely has so little been done with such a short story.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2013

    But at least it's got a great cast having lots of fun.

  • Film

    Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2013

    Like many literary adaptations, this film skims hurriedly over the surface of a sprawling narrative.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Nov. 14, 2013

    It's long—but in a very good way.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Oct. 30, 2013

    As both drama and cinema, the film is merely solid, impressive. As a cultural object, however, it’s essential.

  • Entertainment

    Thursday, Oct. 17, 2013

    It tries to feel urgent, but ultimately just runs out of steam

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Oct. 9, 2013

    What little plot exists isn't worth summarizing, there's something to amuse just about everybody in the Machete sequel.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Oct. 9, 2013

    Lead actress Brie Larson delivers one of the year's best performances.

  • Entertainment

    Thursday, Oct. 3, 2013

    The small moments work best in this mostly worthwhile film.

  • Reviews

    Thursday, Oct. 3, 2013

    Really? A movie about online poker isn't a thrill a minute?

  • Entertainment

    Thursday, Sept. 26, 2013

    We miss you already, James Gandolfini.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2013

    Salinger kept his life private for a reason. Why try to pry when you can't offer anything new?

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Aug. 21, 2013

    The movie focuses on two drinking buddies embarking on a pub crawl challenge.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Aug. 21, 2013

    The problem with Allen’s more overtly serious efforts: Even at their best, they feel reheated, just riffs on the classics.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Aug. 14, 2013

    It could have been a train wreck, but it kinda works.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Aug. 14, 2013

    Plus, Ashton Kutcher just can't rise to this acting challenge.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Aug. 7, 2013

    The movie advocates the release of all large aquatic mammals.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Aug. 1, 2013

    Pedro Almodóvar’s latest is an unsuccessful throwback.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, June 26, 2013

    "The film comes across as an insubstantial lark, no more mature than its protagonists."

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, June 19, 2013

    It's got plenty of surface detail, but there's little underneath.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, June 19, 2013

    Lots of enthusiasm, but not much reason for this to exist.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, May 22, 2013

    Because even violent death, after a while, gets pretty monotonous

  • A&E

    Wednesday, May 8, 2013

    The director identifies much too strongly with Gatsby's penchant for vulgar excess.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, April 24, 2013

    Can we all finally agree that Matthew McConaughey is a pretty good actor?

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, April 17, 2013

    Rob Zombie tones it down a bit—and collapses into self-parody

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, April 17, 2013

    Forget the great music—this movie blows

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, April 10, 2013

    Three storylines, one movie ... and it's pretty good