Site not look beautiful? Click here

Staff List > Rick Lax > Stories

Contact

  • Photo of Rick Lax

Rick Lax

Story Archive

  • A&E

    Tuesday, Nov. 26, 2013

    Imagine that Facebook became a universal operating system. Imagine that Facebook took over. Now you're set to read this terrifying new book.

  • Film

    Monday, Nov. 11, 2013

    If you want to see a movie about what the magic industry’s truly like, Desperate Acts of Magic is the film for you.

  • Print

    Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2013

    What’s missing is the slew of surprising psychological, economic and cultural curveballs

  • Nightlife

    Friday, Nov. 1, 2013

    I went as Gaston, and in the process, I learned that quite a few people have serious Beauty and the Beast fetishes.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2013

    "I spotted a panda kissing a pirate, a team of human lampshades, a fleet of pilots and stewardesses, and a guy in a thong."

  • Casino

    Sunday, Oct. 20, 2013

    What does Vegas get right and wrong about its Italian counterparts?

  • Dining

    Monday, Oct. 14, 2013

    Recently I was forced to confront my gluttony and consumerism head-on and where you'd least expect it.

  • Casino

    Saturday, Oct. 12, 2013

    Ever wonder what a $100,000 chip looks like?

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Sept. 18, 2013

    Short writing is king. End of story.

  • As We See It

    Friday, Sept. 13, 2013

    Limit poker is for more cautious players, like octogenarians and Cleverboy, but it can sometimes yield interesting bonuses.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2013

    Has the poker bubble officially burst?

  • As We See It

    Monday, Sept. 9, 2013

    Remember that show Jon Stewart bashed? It's back, and Rick Lax welcomes it with open arms.

  • As We See It

    Monday, Sept. 9, 2013

    It's an exciting time for Zappos and Downtown Las Vegas, almost as exciting as penguins waddling around the Gold Spike.

  • Print

    Wednesday, Sept. 4, 2013

    Wall Street traders do coke and deceive their spouses? Who knew?

  • Celebrities

    Monday, Sept. 2, 2013

    After a recent "meltdown" during a show in Hartford, Connecticut, the comedian is slated to continue with the Oddball Comedy & Curiosity Festival.

  • As We See It

    Monday, Sept. 2, 2013

    The word "nerd" has gotten out of hand. Let's put things back in order.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Aug. 28, 2013

    A loaf of bread from the dollar store means so much to the many creatures at Sunset Park.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Aug. 21, 2013

    'Cause let's face it—villains just tend to be cooler.

  • A&E

    Tuesday, Aug. 20, 2013

    Every competition goes through a scandal, even ... the Mafia championship?

  • Entertainment

    Friday, Aug. 16, 2013

    Hanging with Larry Wilmore and other highlights from this week's MAGIC Live convention.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Aug. 7, 2013

    The SNL star played it safe Saturday night.

  • Print

    Wednesday, Aug. 7, 2013

    Former New York Times reporter Charlie LeDuff's new book is highly (and sadly) recommended.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Aug. 7, 2013

    Also, the Nevada DMV is drawing rave reviews. Seriously.

  • The Strip

    Thursday, Aug. 1, 2013

    What is it like to live in the world's most unusual neighborhood?

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, July 31, 2013

    Last week the Nevada Supreme Court rejected Ray Pineda's appeal of self-defense on second-degree murder charges.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, July 24, 2013

    Cirque performer just completed an undergraduate degree in political science and might go to law school.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, July 24, 2013

    Do you even know what the Third Amendment is?

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, July 24, 2013

    Also, millennials apparently don't like mascots.

  • Features

    Thursday, July 18, 2013

    It requires mental dexterity, the ability to read opponents and feats of endurance.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, July 17, 2013

    With his incredible timing, the show is 75 minutes of silly joy.

  • WSOP

    Wednesday, July 17, 2013

    Who will win the $8.4 million first-place prize? Maybe one of these guys.

  • A&E

    Tuesday, July 16, 2013

    Dave Chappelle and Flight of the Conchords are coming to Las Vegas, but we're not sure who'll be joining them.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, July 10, 2013

    The new ultra-exclusive level of membership is attainable by invitation only.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, July 10, 2013

    The entertainment district seems to be expanding, though there's little proof so far.

  • A&E

    Thursday, July 4, 2013

    "The Man Who Feels No Pain" is also filming for a UK TV show.

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, July 2, 2013

    UNLV mechanical engineering professor and his students have been piloting drones through the Nevada National Security Site.

  • Friday, June 28, 2013

    In this week's Cleverboy, life imitates art. (In this case, art is a cheesy Billy Crystal movie.)

  • A&E

    Wednesday, June 26, 2013

    Black's musings on disappointment and hanging out were not as funny as Rick Lax had hoped.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 26, 2013

    The Echelon-turned-Resorts World site is getting pagodas. We've got other ideas.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 26, 2013

    One in four Nevadans in obese, according to the CDC.

  • Thursday, June 20, 2013

    Last time, it was about grammar. This time, it's serious.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 19, 2013

    Also, Trip Advisor thinks Las Vegas is the biggest bang for the tourists' bucks.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 19, 2013

    Hershey's World opens on the Strip this winter.

  • Nightlife

    Wednesday, June 12, 2013

    The Mandalay Bay dayclub also boasts an impressive DJ lineup.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 12, 2013

    Also, Nas is set to open a Vegas sneaker shop, but will you buy his kicks?

  • A&E

    Wednesday, June 12, 2013

    Sedaris is one storyteller who’s meant to be heard.

  • Wednesday, June 12, 2013

    Unsurprisingly, "unsurprisingly" is actually a real word.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 5, 2013

    Is this a good time to play cash games on the Strip? Oh yeah.

  • Nightlife

    Wednesday, June 5, 2013

    Vodka infusions, "liquid Bananas Foster," hookahs and shuffleboard.

  • Tuesday, June 4, 2013

    Ravella resort at Lake Las Vegas offers relaxation opportunity.