Site not look beautiful? Click here

Contact

  • Photo of Scott Dickensheets

Scott Dickensheets

Story Archive

  • Education

    Thursday, Aug. 26, 2010

    Surprises, frustrations, policies ... The Weekly finds out what real teachers think about the state of their industry.

  • As We See It

    Thursday, Aug. 19, 2010

    Scott Dickensheets says goodbye to the Weekly for a third -- and final -- time.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Aug. 4, 2010

    Part of Figuratively Speaking: A Survey of the Human Form at the Bellagio Galley of Fine Art

  • Yucca Mountain

    Wednesday, July 21, 2010

    Catherine Price gets off only one inspired zinger in her new book, 101 Places Not to See Before You Die

  • Thursday, June 24, 2010

    Las Vegas is the nation's 41st manliest city. Blame me.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, June 23, 2010

    Questionably famous. Absolutely delicious.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 23, 2010

    Extra Lives: Why Video Games Matter

  • Music

    Wednesday, June 9, 2010

    Scott Dickensheets never gave Exile on Main St. another thought. Until now.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 9, 2010

    Goodbye, worst governor in state history.

  • Politics

    Wednesday, June 2, 2010

    Voters! Who put those people in charge?

  • Comedy

    Wednesday, May 26, 2010

    Giant land snails, Terry Gross and other vital stats on New Zealand's funniest export.

  • Print

    Wednesday, May 26, 2010

    “Cecil’s notions about sex were based on the bragging of equally inexperienced friends, a crumbling copy of a porn magazine, observation of pets and misguided imaginings in general.”

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, May 19, 2010

    Dickensheets dissects: "Who’s better for America a machinist in Detroit or a blackjack dealer in Las Vegas?"

  • Education

    Thursday, May 13, 2010

    With Nevada at 51st in the nation in “students’ chance of success,” it's well past time to act.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, May 5, 2010

    Finally, something Nevada conservatives can get behind!

  • Literature

    Wednesday, April 7, 2010

    Your Presence Is Requested at Suvanto pays off for the reader who prefers to sink into a very specific literary sensibility.

  • Print

    Wednesday, March 24, 2010

    Imagine Vegas now if Brigham Young had gotten his way.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, March 17, 2010

    In this installment: Dinosaurs vs. a talking car

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 3, 2010

    Gasp! Full service massage parlors outrank book stores in Las Vegas?

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, Feb. 23, 2010

    Ya never know who's going to chat with you at a show... or what they'll chat about.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Feb. 17, 2010

    What if Bill Clinton at the Colosseum is just the beginning?

  • Entertainment

    Tuesday, Feb. 16, 2010

    In which Weekly's Scott Dickensheets listens to (almost*) every band playing the saloon this weekend.

  • Literature

    Wednesday, Feb. 3, 2010

    The Weekly talks to John D’Agata about his book, About a Mountain.

  • Nightlife

    Tuesday, Feb. 2, 2010

    Under a thin pretense of Irishness, Tomfoolery is just the place for a not-too-boisterous Saturday night.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 20, 2010

    This week’s release of Legion and The Tooth Fairy—two movies linked only by the presence of winged creatures—got us thinking about other wingy films …

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Dec. 23, 2009

    Picture Glenn Beck with stars obscuring his nipples. Scary, right?

  • A&E

    Tuesday, Dec. 1, 2009

    Something about reptiles goes right to that spot between the shoulder blades where shivers—of fascination, of dread—are set loose.

  • CityCenter

    Tuesday, Dec. 1, 2009

    A Weekly editor takes an eye-opening tour of CityCenter.

  • Music

    Tuesday, Nov. 24, 2009

    ZA-AHM-bie, ZA-AHM-bie, ZA-AHM-bie!

  • Print

    Wednesday, Nov. 18, 2009

    Feel free to e-mail this story to your friends. It would be ironic.

  • Music

    Wednesday, Nov. 4, 2009

    Weekly editors weigh in on the Leonard Cohen selections we'd gladly keep on repeat.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, Nov. 4, 2009

    Our lives would suck without this American Idol winner.

  • Fine Art

    Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2009

    At UNLV, 76 plus four equals 100.

  • As We See It

    Tuesday, Nov. 3, 2009

    Why does the Highway Patrol’s “badge on board” program—in which troopers ride shotgun in selected 18-wheelers and cite drivers who stay in blind spots, don’t allow for wide turns, etc.—focus on the cars?

  • Print

    Thursday, Oct. 29, 2009

    You'll never guess who dies in Death of a Salesman!

  • Print

    Tuesday, Oct. 27, 2009

    Poetry an acquired language.

  • Print

    Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2009

    "I see myself as emblematic of extreme drive and ambition and focus."

  • TV

    Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2009

    Two thoughts on the occasion of Marge Simpson flashing some nip in Playboy.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Oct. 21, 2009

    Look, it didn’t take a nickel’s worth of foresight to see that the tunnel would be this heavily used. Because it’s not a shortcut, with that word’s connotations of unearned convenience; it’s an incredibly useful service.

  • Culture

    Tuesday, Oct. 20, 2009

    George Frideric Handel can help you. Here's how.

  • Print

    Wednesday, Oct. 14, 2009

    Scott Dickensheets and turducken have a little in common.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Oct. 7, 2009

    Downtown residents are upset by the lack of respect their neighborhood gets. Try living in Hooterville, NV.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Sept. 30, 2009

    An uncomfortable speech at the Fifth Street School Wednesday night or writer Stephen Elliott, barefoot and wearing a gray T-shirt, at a backyard literary event. You pick who had the better night.

  • Print

    Tuesday, Sept. 29, 2009

    One Downtownie insists his neighborhood "is as close as we are going to get to San Fran." Proof: Sister Spit.

  • Dining

    Tuesday, Sept. 22, 2009

    Unless the food really sucks, inevitably the worst part of a dining experience is waiting for the bill.

  • Art

    Tuesday, Sept. 22, 2009

    Look at this piece, “EP V,” from the exhibit Ellsworth Peanuts, by local art collective Ripper Jordan. It’s abstract, (just like real art!), but what if, as you look at it, we say these two words: “Peppermint Patty.”

  • Entertainment

    Thursday, Sept. 17, 2009

    Dear 107.9-FM: You’re airing promos asking listeners what changes they’d like to hear, and I do have a suggestion: How about a tad more musical adventurousness?

  • A&E

    Thursday, Sept. 17, 2009

    Because Elliot’s new book, The Adderall Diaries, sounds like a great book.

  • Dining

    Thursday, Sept. 10, 2009

    The Greek Food Festival. The San Gennaro Feast. Two great ethnic food events—but what if you can only attend one? How to choose? Perhaps this handy point system will help you decide.

  • Art

    Thursday, Sept. 3, 2009

    Jerry Misko’s distinctive work—paintings that zoom in tight on this city’s signage and neon iconography—has made him one of the quintessential Vegas artists. His new exhibit is titled Jerry F’n Misko. We asked him about that.