Site not look beautiful? Click here

Staff List > Staff Bio

Steve Friess

Steve Friess is a freelance journalist based in Ann Arbor, Michigan. His work has appeared in the New York Times, Newsweek and USA Today, among many other outlets.

Recent Stories (view all stories)

  • Magic

    Wednesday, Dec. 10, 2014

    The magician's claim that “magic hasn’t been presented in the right way in America” rings a bit hollow in Las Vegas.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 26, 2014

    "I’m just saying we don’t know and, legally, nobody has proven anything. That used to matter, right?"

  • Casino

    Thursday, Nov. 20, 2014

    Here’s a chilling thought, courtesy of the man who made it all possible: “Ask yourself, if there was no Mirage on the Strip, what would’ve happened?”

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 12, 2014

    Frederick Foster looked the Vegas part, that is, minus the douchiness and yard-long margarita and plus class, culture and brains.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Oct. 29, 2014

    Bidding on items? Awesome! Dealing with customer service afterward? Not so much.

  • As We See It

    Thursday, Oct. 9, 2014

    Was it only seven years ago that Miles and I held a “commitment ceremony” in that fabulous suite at the Palms, “officiated” by a rabbi who choked up because he’d never presided over such a “wedding”?

  • Technology

    Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2014

    The Dot-Vegas gods want you to think their crappy real estate is the next Fifth Avenue. ... It’s not Fifth Avenue. It’s Siberia.

  • Gaming

    Wednesday, Sept. 17, 2014

    "And right about now, the idea that casinos equal employment is in question in a way it hasn’t been for decades."

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Sept. 3, 2014

    TV gets Vegas right: The drama incorporates the city's late computer convention COMDEX into its storyline.

  • Gaming

    Wednesday, Aug. 20, 2014

    MGM's Gold Strike casino in Tunica, Miss., recently opened a nonsmoking area.