Site not look beautiful? Click here

Mike D'Angelo

Story Archive

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Feb. 6, 2013

    Too bad this might be Soderbergh's last movie for a while

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Jan. 30, 2013

    We love the cast. So why does the movie suck?

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2013

    Jessica Chastain will be burying this deep at the bottom of her resume.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2013

    The French film focuses on an orca trainer who loses her legs in an accident.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 9, 2013

    The movie simplifies the decade-long manhunt.

  • Film

    Thursday, Dec. 27, 2012

    Our critics pick their favorites of the year.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 19, 2012

    Judd Apatow has lost sight of what’s worth sharing and what should remain in his notebook of ideas.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Dec. 19, 2012

    From singing to filmmaking, this is a pretty miserable experience

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Dec. 12, 2012

    Sean Penn in a fright wig. We're already intrigued!

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Nov. 21, 2012

    Rom-coms and mental illness--not always a great mix

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2012

    Welcome to the crazy mind of Leos Carax

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2012

    Mike D'Angelo recommends five of the genre's classics.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2012

    Paul Thomas Anderson's latest is a bit too contemplative for its own good

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2012

    The writer of Training Day wimps out.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Aug. 29, 2012

    If you love Tommy guns, Lawless is for you

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Aug. 29, 2012

    Robert Pattinson's street cred just shot way up

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Aug. 22, 2012

    Killer Joe is little more than a wallow in the worst of humanity

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Aug. 15, 2012

    Empty opulence.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Aug. 8, 2012

    A documentary on the ultra-rich becomes a story about the economy at large

  • Screen

    Wednesday, Aug. 8, 2012

    Jonathan Demme's latest look at Young gets a little desperate.

  • A&E

    Thursday, July 26, 2012

    Las Vegans can finally see the film, as it didn't make it to local theaters.

  • Film

    Wednesday, July 11, 2012

    Booze flows, tongues wag and secret attractions are revealed.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, June 20, 2012

    It's based on a joke, but Safety is actually pretty touching

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, June 20, 2012

    Think you know what this movie's going to be about? Think again

  • Screen

    Wednesday, June 13, 2012

    If you hate Wes Anderson, this movie won’t change your mind, but believers should be enchanted.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, June 6, 2012

    It's France's second-highest grossing movie of all time. The question is, why?

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, May 30, 2012

    Mike D'Angelo runs down the highlights--and lowlights--from this year's Cannes Film Festival

  • A&E

    Wednesday, May 2, 2012

    Writer-director Whit Stillman makes a welcome return.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, April 25, 2012

    Ralph Fiennes takes a modern spin on Shakespeare -- with terrific results

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, April 18, 2012

    "The Kid With a Bike" is another compassionate winner from the Dardenne brothers.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, April 18, 2012

    "Bully" is solid education but terrible filmmaking.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, March 21, 2012

    And it could have been so much better. Sigh.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 14, 2012

    This one more or less lives up to its marquee-friendly adapted title.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, March 7, 2012

    Despite a great central performance, 'Silent House' is let down by an all-too-familiar cliche

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 29, 2012

    The Oscars' Best Foreign Language Film deserves that accolade and more.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Feb. 22, 2012

    'Wanderlust' is fitfully amusing -- but it is amusing nonetheless

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 8, 2012

    Wim Wenders' 3D documentary works well as a primer on legendary dance choreographer Pina Bausch.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2012

    'The real danger here is that the audience might be talked to death.'

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012

    MMA fighter Gina Carano stars in filmmaker Soderbergh's latest magic act.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2012

    Don't let the NC-17 rating fool you; 'Shame' is a bit of a downer

  • Film

    Wednesday, Jan. 11, 2012

    So long as it’s merely striving to entertain, it’s thoroughly delightful.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Jan. 11, 2012

    Roman Polanski's latest movie, 'Carnage', is just a wallow in ugliness

  • A&E

    Thursday, Dec. 29, 2011

    Our critics pick their favorite films and shows from 2011.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 21, 2011

    The Hollywood version is livelier, but comes off as shallow as its Swedish counterpart.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Dec. 14, 2011

    'Mission Impossible' franchise keeps the thrills coming, and isn't that what it's all about?

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2011

    This film beat 'Martha Marcy May Marlene' at Sundance?!

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Nov. 23, 2011

    Famed director's 3D CGI marvel could use a dose of magic.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2011

    It may be a tough title to remember come Oscar time, but 'Martha Marcy May Marlene' will be a contender

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2011

    Pedro Almodovar's latest is a look at the dark side of plastic surgery

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Oct. 26, 2011

    Depp does his utmost to sell us on the scuzzy romance of blackout alcoholism. I’m still not buying it.