Site not look beautiful? Click here

Mike D'Angelo

Story Archive

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Nov. 23, 2011

    Famed director's 3D CGI marvel could use a dose of magic.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2011

    It may be a tough title to remember come Oscar time, but 'Martha Marcy May Marlene' will be a contender

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Nov. 9, 2011

    Pedro Almodovar's latest is a look at the dark side of plastic surgery

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Oct. 26, 2011

    Depp does his utmost to sell us on the scuzzy romance of blackout alcoholism. I’m still not buying it.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Oct. 12, 2011

    Jack Black, Steve Martin and Owen Wilson star as bird-watchers. No joke.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Oct. 5, 2011

    Gus Van Sant's latest movie is a twee mess

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Sept. 28, 2011

    'Circumstance' deals with a controversial subject, but ends up feeling very ... ordinary.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Sept. 14, 2011

    Remember those '80s action movies? Then you'll probably enjoy 'Drive'

  • Film

    Thursday, Sept. 8, 2011

    Sigmund Freud! Eternal 25-year-olds! The Muppets! Justin Timberlake!

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Sept. 7, 2011

    Soderbergh keeps things moving in 'Contagion'; too fast, in fact

  • Screen

    Wednesday, Aug. 31, 2011

    As buddy cop movies go, 'The Guard' is slightly better than most, but not by much

  • Screen

    Wednesday, Aug. 24, 2011

    Paul Rudd is terrific in 'Idiot Brother'; the rest of the film is not

  • Film

    Wednesday, Aug. 17, 2011

    How much sincere, cloying quirk can a viewer tolerate?

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Aug. 10, 2011

    It’s like a Batman movie in which Batman isn’t even permitted the dignity of fighting crime, merely watching from the wings as a gleefully amoral supervillain steals scene after scene.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Aug. 10, 2011

    A call for submissions on YouTube led 80,000 amateur videographers to submit their material for the Kevin Macdonald-directed project.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Aug. 3, 2011

    Documentary 'Project Nim' misses a golden opportunity to teach us about language

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, July 27, 2011

    'Crazy, Stupid, Love' is a notch above other mainstream film comedies

  • Film

    Wednesday, July 6, 2011

    'A Better Life' borrows from 'The Bicycle Thief' with mixed results.

  • Film

    Wednesday, June 29, 2011

    What if your father suddenly came out of the closet at age 75, immediately following your mother’s death? That really happened to writer-director Mike Mills.

  • Screen

    Wednesday, June 22, 2011

    It's no 'Bad Santa,' but 'Bad Teacher' isn't, well, bad

  • Screen

    Wednesday, June 15, 2011

    Mike D'Angelo says 'Tree of Life comes close to being the best movie of all time

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, June 8, 2011

    Woody Allen's latest misses some golden opportunities

  • Film

    Wednesday, May 25, 2011

    Every Cannes Film Festival develops its own narrative, but this year’s lineup presented a truly epic philosophical showdown between two of the world’s most revered auteurs, each of whom audaciously married the personal and the cosmic.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, May 18, 2011

    Product placement in a movie about product placement? We need a Tums

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, May 4, 2011

    Is the Oscar winner for Best Foreign Language Film really the best of the year?

  • A&E

    Wednesday, April 20, 2011

    Twilight's Pattinson is upstaged by his Oscar-winning costars. Did he sink it alone? Find out here.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, April 6, 2011

    Check out Weekly writer Mike D'Angelo's review of Paul Giamatti's new flick right here.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, April 6, 2011

    Director Joe Wright's new flick hits theaters Friday.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, March 30, 2011

    The latest remake of 'Jane Eyre' demonstrates why it doesn't make a great movie

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, March 16, 2011

    There’s something oddly dispiriting about the basic comic premise of Paul...

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 2, 2011

    Do naive, small-town insurance salesmen make for good comedies? Find out here!

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 16, 2011

    You might forget the story, but Barney's Version definitely provides a showcase for terrific actors.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Feb. 9, 2011

    How does this French animated movie stack up against Toy Story 3?

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 2, 2011

    Sofia Coppola turns her attention to the travails of the poor.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Feb. 2, 2011

    The movie as a whole comes across as vaguely pointless.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2011

    Now, inevitably, comes the film adaptation.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2011

    'The Green Hornet' isn’t a superhero action movie so much as a spoof of the genre.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 5, 2011

    Gwyneth sings, Tim doesn't, and Leighton Meester steals the show? Weekly write Mike D'Angelo discusses.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Dec. 30, 2010

    Our critics pick their favorite films and shows from 2010.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2010

    If there’s one thing Hollywood loves more than an actor playing royalty, it’s an actor depicting a disability.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2010

    Ewan McGregor plays the titular character in I Love You Phillip Morris, opposite Jim Carey (playing real-life con artist Steven Jay Russell) as his homosexual lover.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Dec. 15, 2010

    For all its rough patches, the film boasts the one element sorely missing from most Hollywood rom-coms: a pulse.

  • Film

    Tuesday, Nov. 23, 2010

    By golly, it kind of works!

  • Film

    Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2010

    Not every big scandal should be a movie, people.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Nov. 11, 2010

    Morning Glory tales the tale behind the people delivering your news. But does the movie itself deliver?

  • Film

    Wednesday, Nov. 10, 2010

    Restating the obvious about the evils of Wall Street.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Oct. 27, 2010

    Tillman himself remains fascinating; the story of his tragic death and its fairly brief cover-up, much less so.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2010

    Not that there’s some big twist or anything—you just wouldn’t expect this kind of high-concept, star-driven American film to be so relentlessly interior.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2010

    “Superman” successfully jerks your tears and fuels your outrage, but it’s more a recruiting tool than a movie.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Oct. 6, 2010

    Despite its capable cast, the film has little more to offer than stale platitudes and canned one-liners.