Site not look beautiful? Click here

Mike D'Angelo

Story Archive

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Aug. 10, 2011

    It’s like a Batman movie in which Batman isn’t even permitted the dignity of fighting crime, merely watching from the wings as a gleefully amoral supervillain steals scene after scene.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Aug. 10, 2011

    A call for submissions on YouTube led 80,000 amateur videographers to submit their material for the Kevin Macdonald-directed project.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Aug. 3, 2011

    Documentary 'Project Nim' misses a golden opportunity to teach us about language

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, July 27, 2011

    'Crazy, Stupid, Love' is a notch above other mainstream film comedies

  • Film

    Wednesday, July 6, 2011

    'A Better Life' borrows from 'The Bicycle Thief' with mixed results.

  • Film

    Wednesday, June 29, 2011

    What if your father suddenly came out of the closet at age 75, immediately following your mother’s death? That really happened to writer-director Mike Mills.

  • Screen

    Wednesday, June 22, 2011

    It's no 'Bad Santa,' but 'Bad Teacher' isn't, well, bad

  • Screen

    Wednesday, June 15, 2011

    Mike D'Angelo says 'Tree of Life comes close to being the best movie of all time

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, June 8, 2011

    Woody Allen's latest misses some golden opportunities

  • Film

    Wednesday, May 25, 2011

    Every Cannes Film Festival develops its own narrative, but this year’s lineup presented a truly epic philosophical showdown between two of the world’s most revered auteurs, each of whom audaciously married the personal and the cosmic.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, May 18, 2011

    Product placement in a movie about product placement? We need a Tums

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, May 4, 2011

    Is the Oscar winner for Best Foreign Language Film really the best of the year?

  • A&E

    Wednesday, April 20, 2011

    Twilight's Pattinson is upstaged by his Oscar-winning costars. Did he sink it alone? Find out here.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, April 6, 2011

    Check out Weekly writer Mike D'Angelo's review of Paul Giamatti's new flick right here.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, April 6, 2011

    Director Joe Wright's new flick hits theaters Friday.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, March 30, 2011

    The latest remake of 'Jane Eyre' demonstrates why it doesn't make a great movie

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, March 16, 2011

    There’s something oddly dispiriting about the basic comic premise of Paul...

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 2, 2011

    Do naive, small-town insurance salesmen make for good comedies? Find out here!

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 16, 2011

    You might forget the story, but Barney's Version definitely provides a showcase for terrific actors.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Feb. 9, 2011

    How does this French animated movie stack up against Toy Story 3?

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 2, 2011

    Sofia Coppola turns her attention to the travails of the poor.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Feb. 2, 2011

    The movie as a whole comes across as vaguely pointless.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2011

    Now, inevitably, comes the film adaptation.

  • Reviews

    Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2011

    'The Green Hornet' isn’t a superhero action movie so much as a spoof of the genre.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 5, 2011

    Gwyneth sings, Tim doesn't, and Leighton Meester steals the show? Weekly write Mike D'Angelo discusses.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Dec. 30, 2010

    Our critics pick their favorite films and shows from 2010.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2010

    If there’s one thing Hollywood loves more than an actor playing royalty, it’s an actor depicting a disability.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2010

    Ewan McGregor plays the titular character in I Love You Phillip Morris, opposite Jim Carey (playing real-life con artist Steven Jay Russell) as his homosexual lover.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Dec. 15, 2010

    For all its rough patches, the film boasts the one element sorely missing from most Hollywood rom-coms: a pulse.

  • Film

    Tuesday, Nov. 23, 2010

    By golly, it kind of works!

  • Film

    Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2010

    Not every big scandal should be a movie, people.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Nov. 11, 2010

    Morning Glory tales the tale behind the people delivering your news. But does the movie itself deliver?

  • Film

    Wednesday, Nov. 10, 2010

    Restating the obvious about the evils of Wall Street.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Oct. 27, 2010

    Tillman himself remains fascinating; the story of his tragic death and its fairly brief cover-up, much less so.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2010

    Not that there’s some big twist or anything—you just wouldn’t expect this kind of high-concept, star-driven American film to be so relentlessly interior.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2010

    “Superman” successfully jerks your tears and fuels your outrage, but it’s more a recruiting tool than a movie.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Oct. 6, 2010

    Despite its capable cast, the film has little more to offer than stale platitudes and canned one-liners.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Sept. 29, 2010

    You’re better off knowing as little as possible in advance.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2010

    As opportunistic, decades-later sequels go, Wall Street: Money Never Sleeps makes a bit more sense than most.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2010

    Confined almost entirely to the interior of a single tank, Lebanon is Israeli director Samuel Maoz’s fictionalized account of his harrowing experiences in the 1982 Lebanon War.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2010

    Joaquin Phoenix "documentary" is more fun to hear about than to actually experience.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2010

    David Michôd’s promising but scattershot feature debut Animal Kingdom thrusts a wary young rabbit into a den of jackals and watches to see if he'll make it out alive.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Sept. 1, 2010

    This ostensible homage to ’70s sleaze feel more like a late-night comedy sketch.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Aug. 18, 2010

    Get Low won’t likely be Duvall’s final film, but it functions nonetheless as a sort of crusty valediction.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Aug. 11, 2010

    Give it up, guys. Your '80s action hero days are over.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Aug. 4, 2010

    The film serves as a bitterly hilarious illustration of the way radical and subversive concepts get appropriated by the talentless and watered down for mass consumption

  • Film

    Wednesday, July 28, 2010

    At first glance, Winter’s Bone, looks like more of the same. Against all odds, however, this turns out to be the most electrifying movie of the year.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, July 28, 2010

    You might imagine a movie about legalized prostitution would at least hold your attention. But there’s a reason director Taylor Hackford (Ray) has the word “hack” in his surname.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, July 21, 2010

    Every character in this Sundance hit, regardless of sexual orientation, proves to be believably, entertainingly flawed

  • Film

    Wednesday, July 7, 2010

    This could be either a broad mainstream comedy or a subtle indie character study. As executed by the Duplass brothers, it’s essentially both at once.