Site not look beautiful? Click here

Contact

Spencer Patterson

Spencer Patterson is Las Vegas Weekly's Managing Editor, having previously served as Arts & Entertainment Editor, Music Editor and a Staff Writer for the magazine. A graduate of Cornell University, he's an obsessive album listener who can typically be found earphoned, discovering new artists or digging deeply into favorites' back-catalogs. He's also a voracious sea urchin eater; if you have a celestial uni spot to recommend, please drop him a line.

Story Archive

  • A&E

    Saturday, March 22, 2014

    New spots may abound Downtown, but there’s something comforting about a packed Beauty Bar patio.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 19, 2014

    The hip-hop crew turned in performances befitting the notable circumstances, on their own Friday and as the band behind Elvis Costello.

  • Music

    Wednesday, March 19, 2014

    The five-piece’s aesthetic might appeal to fans of abrasive, lo-fi recordings.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 19, 2014

    Ty Segall, Karl Denson's Tiny Universe and KRS-One are all headed to town.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, March 12, 2014

    Soulive guitarist Eric Krasno went so far as to call the new spot at the Linq the best venue he’d ever played.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, March 12, 2014

    The band's second post-Kurt Vile record is a solid, often gorgeous, effort.

  • A&E

    Sunday, March 9, 2014

    It’s interesting to hear the way he has, seemingly, become influenced by one of the many acts he influenced originally.

  • Food

    Friday, March 7, 2014

    Two hours after I ate it, my mouth is still confused.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Feb. 27, 2014

    Reverend Horton Heat, Crog-Mags, Riverboat Gamblers among more than 40 acts set to play four Downtown Vegas venues.

  • A&E

    Sunday, Feb. 23, 2014

    Kudos to those who booked it, and here’s hoping it penciled out well enough for them to experiment again.

  • Music

    Wednesday, Feb. 19, 2014

    Reunion album No. 5 ranks with 2012’s 'The Bears for Lunch' as the most wholly satisfying.

  • A&E

    Tuesday, Feb. 18, 2014

    'No Trickery!' to land in Vegas for nine dates in May and June.

  • Music

    Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2014

    This year, Punksinvegas.com has ramped up archival efforts with full discoveries from local bands.

  • Film

    Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2014

    Admit it: You wouldn't be surprised to see Ryan Reynolds starring in a Turner & Hooch redux.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Feb. 5, 2014

    Dennis Mitchell's local show launches this weekend.

  • Music

    Friday, Jan. 31, 2014

    Daft Punk owned the Grammys last weekend, so we're digging into our archives for this chat with Thomas Bangalter.

  • Local Music

    Wednesday, Jan. 29, 2014

    Whatever your personal feelings, let’s all agree on this: Las Vegas is better off for having had it.

  • A&E

    Friday, Jan. 24, 2014

    Tickets go on sale February 1 at 1 p.m.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 22, 2014

    Translating live power onto records continues to be a struggle for Mogwai.

  • Local Music

    Tuesday, Jan. 21, 2014

    Co-organizer Jason Aragon left open the chance of a relaunch, without expressing confidence it would happen.

  • Music

    Monday, Jan. 20, 2014

    With today's announcement that former Roxy Music frontman Bryan Ferry will play the Pearl, the crossover pack is officially 20 strong.

  • Music

    Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014

    Radke won't be on the mic when his original band takes the stage, but he'll be up next.

  • Features

    Thursday, Jan. 9, 2014

    The Vegas native’s Life Is Beautiful set last October had a flighty festival crowd on lockdown.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2014

    "Tori Amos alone on the piano, I don’t think you’re gonna see that at the Brooklyn Bowl."

  • Local Music

    Wednesday, Dec. 25, 2013

    The Huntridge rose again, while Holding Onto Sound said goodnight.

  • Music

    Tuesday, Dec. 24, 2013

    How do you want your ears to send out 2013?

  • Dining

    Friday, Dec. 20, 2013

    Losing a favorite restaurant can feel like losing a friend.

  • Local Music

    Thursday, Dec. 19, 2013

    From Caravels to Same Sex Mary, here's a handy guide to what's available right now.

  • Local Music

    Thursday, Dec. 19, 2013

    Faded Grey, Curl Up and Die and the holy grail of first-wave Vegas punk.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2013

    Item one: more elves.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2013

    What we know about the anticipated space, and what we don't.

  • A&E

    Friday, Dec. 6, 2013

    Las Vegas band to battle Daft Punk, David Bowie and Led Zeppelin(?) for music awards.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Nov. 28, 2013

    Doug Martsch's melodic guitar work still fills a room, and his voice, even in its roughest road condition, still aches with a winsome vulnerability.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2013

    Also, some tasty sea urchin in Seattle.

  • Dining

    Thursday, Nov. 7, 2013

    From the super-minimal space to the parade of obscure, flavor-rich fish, everything about Kabuto screams “once in a lifetime.”

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2013

    This is a side of Spencer Krug you haven't seen before.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2013

    The Green Valley shopping complex recently paved a road over its pedestrian walkway.

  • Noise

    Thursday, Oct. 31, 2013

    A continuous sensory flood over two days in Downtown Las Vegas, the Life Is Beautiful Festival turned out to be pretty spectacular.

  • Noise

    Thursday, Oct. 31, 2013

    We will be back next year. ... And I can tell you, the growth potential for this thing is tremendous.

  • Entertainment

    Thursday, Oct. 31, 2013

    A great album got a great cover by a great band.

  • Noise

    Monday, Oct. 28, 2013

    The Welsh trio rocked with intensity for its full 45 minutes, producing some of the festival’s most deafening jams.

  • Noise

    Monday, Oct. 28, 2013

    One of the festival’s most celebrated performers was totally undone by tragically poor sound.

  • Noise

    Sunday, Oct. 27, 2013

    The last time Beck played a Las Vegas music festival, I walked out.

  • Noise

    Sunday, Oct. 27, 2013

    The Homegrown area is open and inviting, buttressed by three interactive installations.

  • Noise

    Sunday, Oct. 27, 2013

    The female frontwomen's dreamy vocal interplay left a lasting impression, as the group played bouncy, synth-tinged tunes.

  • A&E

    Friday, Oct. 25, 2013

    Bay Area rocker Ty Segall's new trio brings the heavy to Downtown.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Oct. 24, 2013

    Dean & Britta set to provide live accompaniment for Andy Warhol’s Screen Tests at Life Is Beautiful fest.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Oct. 24, 2013

    You can't see every act, so we took the liberty to pare it down for you...

  • A&E

    Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2013

    The Killers to close out two-day fest October 27 on Downtown Stage.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Oct. 10, 2013

    Brian Havens' two-hour stage production set to debut Sunday, October 13 in Riverside, California.