Site not look beautiful? Click here

Contact

Spencer Patterson

Spencer Patterson is Las Vegas Weekly's Managing Editor, having previously served as Arts & Entertainment Editor, Music Editor and a Staff Writer for the magazine. A graduate of Cornell University, he's an obsessive album listener who can typically be found earphoned, discovering new artists or digging deeply into favorites' back-catalogs. He's also a voracious sea urchin eater; if you have a celestial uni spot to recommend, please drop him a line.

Story Archive

  • Noise

    Thursday, Oct. 31, 2013

    A continuous sensory flood over two days in Downtown Las Vegas, the Life Is Beautiful Festival turned out to be pretty spectacular.

  • Noise

    Monday, Oct. 28, 2013

    The Welsh trio rocked with intensity for its full 45 minutes, producing some of the festival’s most deafening jams.

  • Noise

    Monday, Oct. 28, 2013

    One of the festival’s most celebrated performers was totally undone by tragically poor sound.

  • Noise

    Sunday, Oct. 27, 2013

    The last time Beck played a Las Vegas music festival, I walked out.

  • Noise

    Sunday, Oct. 27, 2013

    The Homegrown area is open and inviting, buttressed by three interactive installations.

  • Noise

    Sunday, Oct. 27, 2013

    The female frontwomen's dreamy vocal interplay left a lasting impression, as the group played bouncy, synth-tinged tunes.

  • A&E

    Friday, Oct. 25, 2013

    Bay Area rocker Ty Segall's new trio brings the heavy to Downtown.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Oct. 24, 2013

    Dean & Britta set to provide live accompaniment for Andy Warhol’s Screen Tests at Life Is Beautiful fest.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Oct. 24, 2013

    You can't see every act, so we took the liberty to pare it down for you...

  • A&E

    Tuesday, Oct. 15, 2013

    The Killers to close out two-day fest October 27 on Downtown Stage.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Oct. 10, 2013

    Brian Havens' two-hour stage production set to debut Sunday, October 13 in Riverside, California.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Oct. 9, 2013

    From 'Splash' to 'Cast Away,' good things tend to happen when he hits the high seas.

  • A&E

    Tuesday, Oct. 8, 2013

    The setlist leaned more heavily on classic cuts as the show wore on. What’s not fun about that?

  • Music

    Monday, Oct. 7, 2013

    The seminal alt-rock band, which last played the Joint in 2010, returns minus a member.

  • Music

    Wednesday, Oct. 2, 2013

    “We’re about as D.I.Y. as you can get, but I think it sounds about as good as it can."

  • A&E

    Saturday, Sept. 28, 2013

    You might know Bob Dylan opened the House of Blues, but do you remember who opened the Joint?

  • A&E

    Tuesday, Sept. 24, 2013

    Single-day tickets go on sale Friday at 10 a.m.

  • A&E

    Saturday, Sept. 14, 2013

    Who says Rush and Bruce Springsteen have the most rabid fans in rock?

  • Features

    Thursday, Sept. 12, 2013

    CCSD schools are no longer required to teach it in classrooms, but they can if they so choose.

  • A&E

    Friday, Sept. 6, 2013

    Both superstar rappers revealed tour schedules—featuring Las Vegas dates—within minutes of each other today.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Sept. 5, 2013

    From iHeartRadio to Life Is Beautiful and Jesse Ware to Justin Timberlake.

  • Sports

    Wednesday, Sept. 4, 2013

    No more hoping DeMarco Murray makes it through another season.

  • Music

    Saturday, Aug. 24, 2013

    A sadly undersized crowd at the Hard Rock Cafe on the Strip reveled in an intense performance and an encore for the ages.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, Aug. 21, 2013

    After going seven years between Las Vegas tour stops, the band has suddenly dropped by three times in four years.

  • A&E

    Thursday, Aug. 1, 2013

    The October festival presents its final Downtown music showcase during August's First Friday.

  • Music

    Wednesday, July 31, 2013

    There's a barrage of new local music out there. We're here to help.

  • A&E

    Saturday, July 27, 2013

    A great setlist, but too bad the headliner's voice was buried beneath his bandmates.

  • Local Elections

    Wednesday, July 24, 2013

    They draw mixed reactions ... and they like it that way.

  • As We See It

    Monday, July 15, 2013

    What had been a creeping crowdfunding effort to save the Las Vegas landmark has kicked into high gear.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, July 10, 2013

    The Jethro Tull leader's live presentation of 'Thick as a Brick 2' was the real revelation.

  • A&E

    Tuesday, July 2, 2013

    The Bunkhouse isn't closing for good, but whatever comes next will be something different.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, June 26, 2013

    P.S.: The Bunkhouse closes for a remodel after Saturday night.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, June 19, 2013

    This album just screams epic.

  • A&E

    Friday, June 14, 2013

    The synth-pop foursome inspires ... stage dives and a circle pit?!

  • A&E

    Wednesday, June 12, 2013

    The Scottish duo delivered its best material in more than a decade.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 12, 2013

    Failure to achieve the indiegogo.com goal could doom the project before it begins.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, June 5, 2013

    The Downtown fest’s inaugural two-day run ought to sell, great news for anyone hoping the event is more than a one-year wonder.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, June 5, 2013

    Tunes from LIB artists to start getting you ready for October.

  • Local Music

    Monday, June 3, 2013

    Two-day Downtown festival will also feature Pretty Lights, Empire of the Sun, Passion Pit and Jurassic 5, among many others.

  • Local Music

    Thursday, May 30, 2013

    In an alternate universe, he might have been Brandon Flowers … or maybe some bizarro version.

  • Noise

    Thursday, May 30, 2013

    From Beyonce to Black Sabbath, 10 shows to see this summer.

  • Noise

    Thursday, May 30, 2013

    Kanye West, Queens of the Stone Age and Scotland's most reclusive electronic duo.

  • Entertainment

    Thursday, May 23, 2013

    From Strip-side movies to Jazz in the Park, there's plenty to do in the Valley this season.

  • A&E

    Monday, May 20, 2013

    Passes for both weekends, priced from $349, go on sale this Friday at 10 a.m.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, May 15, 2013

    I left Saturday’s show convinced that the band should keep touring until it literally can’t. Because someday, the Stones will be gone, and the world will be a sadder place for it.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, May 15, 2013

    Las Vegans are easy to help the historic theater rise again.

  • Noise

    Thursday, May 9, 2013

    Partnership group Huntridge Revival, LLC has signed a contract that will allow it to renovate and relaunch the Downtown landmark.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, May 8, 2013

    The band's been dusting off a few rarities for its 50 Years and Counting tour.

  • Noise

    Wednesday, May 8, 2013

    Raw and unfussy, Monomania rocks like it should.

  • A&E

    Sunday, April 28, 2013

    It’s the rarest of performers who gets a reviewer to come back for more.