Site not look beautiful? Click here

Staff List > Jim Begley > Stories

Contact

  • Photo of Jim Begley

Jim Begley

Jim Begley is an avid food lover who began writing about his Las Vegas dining adventures to defray his obscene restaurant spending. Follow Jim on Twitter: @splurgemonkey.

Story Archive

  • Dining

    Wednesday, May 8, 2013

    The Hungry Islander is a market with a tasty buffet in the back.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, May 1, 2013

    From street food stand to full-fledged restaurant, Viva Las Arepas has flavors that should not be missed.

  • Features

    Thursday, April 25, 2013

    From Big Dog's to Sierra Nevada to Deschutes, these folks know what they like.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, April 24, 2013

    East-side favorite prepares to bring its stellar taps and massive menu westward.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, April 17, 2013

    Look for Dodoni feta cheese at International Marketplace to complete this easy recipe.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, April 17, 2013

    Executive chef at Todd English P.U.B. takes his boys to Sushi Mon for an all-they-can-eat feast.

  • Food

    Wednesday, April 3, 2013

    Small curry house has a simple, fun menu.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, March 27, 2013

    Delicious and cheap satay skewers, roti bread, shrimp cakes and more.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, March 27, 2013

    Famed pizza maker Enzo Coccia came to Caesars Place to drop some knowledge.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, March 13, 2013

    The friendly Badger Cafe next to Rum Runner serves a damn fine burger.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, March 6, 2013

    Top Chef alum brings tasteful Asian fusion to the Summerlin area.

  • Nightlife

    Wednesday, March 6, 2013

    It doesn't get much better than this.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Feb. 20, 2013

    Chef's varied Vegas experiences culminate with great new Asian American cafe.

  • Chef Talk

    Wednesday, Feb. 6, 2013

    Chef Rodolfo Guzman started as a dishwasher at Jaleo in Washington, D.C.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Jan. 30, 2013

    Chef Steve Piamchunter’s fun new restaurant has you covered from Thailand to Ireland.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Jan. 30, 2013

    Biscuit sliders are the main attraction at Biscuits 2 Burgers, until you discover the Zumex.

  • Recipes

    Wednesday, Jan. 30, 2013

    Executive chef worked with celeb cook Aarón Sánchez on a new menu.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Jan. 23, 2013

    Chef Devin Hashimoto helped turn Okada into the more modern Mizumi at Wynn last year.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Jan. 23, 2013

    Sample a couple lamejuns, Armenian pizzas, while you shop.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Jan. 16, 2013

    Winter is the right time to return to the Vegas soul food institution.

  • Dining

    Wednesday, Jan. 9, 2013

    Also, you gotta try the pides.

  • Recipes

    Wednesday, Jan. 9, 2013

    Try these Irish pigs in blankets at home, and don't forget the Guinness mustard sauce.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Dec. 26, 2012

    Brock Radke and Jim Begley ate everything this year, and these dozen dishes stood out.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Dec. 19, 2012

    Blue Ribbon executive chef shares why his father is his ultimate food inspiration.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Dec. 19, 2012

    Venetian burger joint offers a mechanical pickle, crazy grub and lots of graffiti.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Dec. 12, 2012

    A tasty little piece of Michigan, right here in fabulous Downtown Las Vegas.

  • Print

    Saturday, Dec. 8, 2012

    Like the critics who wrote it, there are some things about this Top 50 restaurant list that annoy us.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012

    Veteran Vegas chef is now running the kitchen at Todd English P.U.B.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Dec. 5, 2012

    Carla Pellegrino's latest Italian eatery is automatically Town Square's best.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2012

    Your bar, a cold beer, a big burger. Any takers?

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Nov. 21, 2012

    Name one other Strip chef who has eaten this much pickled okra from Shoney's.

  • Features

    Thursday, Nov. 15, 2012

    These meat accompaniments (almost) steal the show ...

  • Features

    Thursday, Nov. 15, 2012

    Get ready for non-stop meat delivery at our finest Brazilian churrascaria.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2012

    Finally, the Japanese-Hawaiian joint with a shrimp-and-guacamole dish has been discovered.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Nov. 7, 2012

    Get the recipe here!

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Oct. 31, 2012

    The Travel Channel star talks about his food journal and the Yoda of barbecue.

  • Features

    Thursday, Oct. 25, 2012

    Because he already had his "Jim's Fried Rice" dish at KoMex Express ...

  • Features

    Thursday, Oct. 25, 2012

    "It’s almost a secret menu item.”

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Oct. 24, 2012

    Mizumi's braised Kurobuta pork could be a hit at your next dinner party.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Oct. 17, 2012

    Just because Scorch the Clown says the ribs are great doesn't make it so.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Oct. 17, 2012

    Chef Saul Ortiz is obsessed with spicy peppers, so of course he's into Thai food.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2012

    Sarah Feldberg and Jim Begley highlight the best of this year's All-Star Weekend

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2012

    It's not too cool outside (yet) for the classic Spanish cold soup, and it's easier than you think.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Oct. 3, 2012

    This neighborhood treasure is easily confused with a Caesars Palace restaurant.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Oct. 3, 2012

    The chef's favorite dish on his menu? Anything with corned beef.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Oct. 3, 2012

    Bartolotta Ristorante Di Mare's gamberi e cannellini is easy to make.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Sept. 26, 2012

    It's much easier to make than you think.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Sept. 26, 2012

    The robust pozole alone is enough to get Jim Begley ready for a road trip.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Sept. 19, 2012

    As a kid, this chef took his dad to dinner at Daniel Boulud's place in New York City.

  • Taste

    Wednesday, Sept. 12, 2012

    Barbecued meats, sausages and meatballs dominate this menu.