Site not look beautiful? Click here

Staff List > Steve Friess > Stories

Contact

  • Photo of Steve Friess

Steve Friess

Story Archive

  • People

    Thursday, Jan. 27, 2011

    The day before Christmas, Shae Wilhite’s email box started filling up with some unusual messages.

  • The Strip

    Wednesday, Jan. 26, 2011

    @24k and @VegasBill are a very familiar Vegas breed, the sort of freeloaders who make it more difficult for real media vanguards to be taken seriously by either publicists or the public.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Jan. 19, 2011

    Jean Bartel was crowned before the pageant began being televised, before Miss America was a pop icon.

  • Print

    Wednesday, Jan. 12, 2011

    I hate reading books by local authors I know. If I dislike them, I want to say so and that gets awkward. So I try not to.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Jan. 5, 2011

    After a month of awful accidents at the new Spider-Man show in New York, maybe Broadway should consider taking a few hints from the Boulevard.

  • A&E

    Wednesday, Dec. 29, 2010

    As we made our way past the tri-level chandelier that is the signature of Vegas’ newest playground, two grouches provided decidedly different reactions.

  • Wynn Las Vegas

    Wednesday, Dec. 22, 2010

    The resort boom is over. What are Las Vegas construction tycoons to do now?

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Dec. 15, 2010

    Warren Buffett gets in Elaine Wynn’s ear every so often about this little project he and Bill Gates want her to consider.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, Dec. 8, 2010

    This weekend begins an open-ended, six-nights-a-week production called Sinatra Dance With Me at Wynn Las Vegas, a modern dance revue set to recorded tunes by the original Rat Packer.

  • The Strip

    Wednesday, Dec. 1, 2010

    Here we go, heading once again into yet another December casino-resort opening on the Strip.

  • Dining

    Tuesday, Nov. 23, 2010

    Now seating ego, party of three

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Nov. 17, 2010

    The more I think about it, the more I worry.

  • CityCenter

    Wednesday, Nov. 10, 2010

    MGM Resorts brass made many pre-opening claims about CityCenter that were, in retrospect, ridiculous.

  • Poker

    Wednesday, Nov. 3, 2010

    Now that those thrilling elections are behind us, who’s ready for some poker?

  • Politics

    Wednesday, Oct. 27, 2010

    She answers pretty much any question, however politically imprudent.

  • People

    Wednesday, Oct. 20, 2010

    Bob Forbuss is known for remaining cool and steady in virtually any situation.

  • celebs

    Wednesday, Oct. 13, 2010

    Normally, ex-managers are pretty good for the inside scoop on what stars and celebrities are really like—but what about Chip Lightman?

  • Theatre

    Wednesday, Oct. 6, 2010

    That’s right, someone in the theater, a place we all believe to be a haven for all sorts of societal misfits and outcasts, felt it was appropriate to angrily deploy the nuclear bomb gay word, “faggot,” and to attack a man’s gender identity.

  • Stratosphere

    Wednesday, Sept. 29, 2010

    Meet Ruby Malalay - former rides operator, Big Shot enthusiast and cameo star on the Travel Channel.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2010

    How does it feel to lose? Turns out, not so good.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Sept. 15, 2010

    Monorail signage is woefully confusing.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Sept. 8, 2010

    At 84-years-old, she's an ageless wonder.

  • Sports

    Wednesday, Sept. 1, 2010

    "All I can tell you is, ‘Listen, I made a bad mistake, I’m sorry and I’m trying to go on with my life.’"

  • The Strip

    Wednesday, Aug. 25, 2010

    “You can’t drive down the fucking Strip and tell me it’s all beautifully laid out."

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, Aug. 18, 2010

    In an Internet minute, two brothers ascend from suspiciously regarded unknowns to publicist-adored media fixtures, invited or given access to all sorts of fancy events.

  • Sports

    Wednesday, Aug. 11, 2010

    Personal vendettas might be getting in the way of a massive, job-creating venue

  • Economy

    Wednesday, Aug. 4, 2010

    Hear Steve Friess out, please. He's not in favor of anyone going broke or losing their jobs. Really.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, July 28, 2010

    Steve Friess agrees with Sherm Frederick? Believe it.

  • Casinos

    Wednesday, July 21, 2010

    “Well, cutting back hasn’t worked. I decided to try something new. I got tired of hearing about everybody cutting back.”

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, July 14, 2010

    Steve Friess on the cashless gaming process.

  • Comedy

    Wednesday, July 7, 2010

    A sense of dread hung over me for most of the hour Brad Garrett commanded the stage.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 30, 2010

    “The most important thing to help Vegas is to get a train up and running from LA. You get even a slow train, I don’t care, with all the gimmicks to make it fun, that would be the single biggest thing.”

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 23, 2010

    Scandal on Top Chef Masters!

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, June 16, 2010

    What is the hold that this odd nook of the Sawtooth Mountains has over some of the bold-faced names of Las Vegas?

  • Poker

    Wednesday, June 9, 2010

    Steve Friess is not a big one for insignificant, anti-intellectual, unartistic diversions, but there was something about Phil Laak's Guinness World Record attempt.

  • Comedy

    Wednesday, June 2, 2010

    Comedian Paul Rodriguez talks smack about the Trop and his own show, it’s no joke.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, May 26, 2010

    Docent tours, a new buffet and more friendly advice from Steve Friess.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, May 19, 2010

    How a vintage act taught me to love Vegas for its oldies

  • Steve Wynn

    Wednesday, May 12, 2010

    The Las Vegas media lately has spent a whole bunch of ink and digital space attacking and analyzing Steve Wynn’s suggestion that he might move his corporate headquarters to China.

  • Features

    Thursday, May 6, 2010

    What if that nationally-sought fugitive is your own flesh and blood? Worse, what happens when you're the only one who can stop him?

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 28, 2010

    Steve Friess is what is wrong with the gay community in Vegas.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, April 21, 2010

    It’s not often that a major corporation is involved with both one obviously prescient decision and another possibly shortsighted one within the span of hours.

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, April 21, 2010

    Human Nature celebrates a successful first year. And Goss? He couldn’t quite fill a tiny lounge at The Palms, only to relocate to Caesars' which, again, he is not filling up.

  • CityCenter

    Wednesday, April 14, 2010

    Talking with a couple of out-of-towners who think MGM Mirage’s latest gamble is - wait for it - the best place in town.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, April 7, 2010

    The Greatest Living Architect has a soft spot for ... the Excalibur?

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 31, 2010

    Inside perhaps the most expensive - possibly the most civil - divorce ever

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 24, 2010

    Where Froot Loops are more prominently displayed than Count Chocula.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 17, 2010

    Robert Earl arrived from—almost literally—another planet.

  • As We See It

    Wednesday, March 10, 2010

    The Hangover may have struck out, but Vegas still scored a Wynn at the Oscars

  • Entertainment

    Wednesday, March 3, 2010

    After Viva Elvis opened, local reviewers were highly critical and out-of-town critics could not have been more thrilled.